Chasing the Wind
by C.C. Humphreys

Publication Date: June 5, 2018
Paperback & eBook; 320 Pages

Genre: Historical/Women’s Fiction/Mystery

 

 

Smuggler. Smoker. Aviatrix. Thief. The dynamic Roxy Loewen is all these things and more, in this riveting and gorgeous historical fiction novel for readers of Paula McLain, Roberta Rich, Kate Morton and Jacqueline Winspear.

You should never fall in love with a flyer. You should only fall in love with flight.

That’s what Roxy Loewen always thought, until she falls for fellow pilot Jocco Zomack as they run guns into Ethiopia. Jocco may be a godless commie, but his father is a leading art dealer and he’s found the original of Bruegel’s famous painting, the Fall of Icarus. The trouble is, it’s in Spain, a country slipping fast into civil war. The money’s better than good–if Roxy can just get the painting to Berlin and back out again before Reichsmarshall Hermann Gˆring and his Nazi pals get their hands on it . . .

But this is 1936, and Hitler’s Olympics are in full swing. Not only that, but Gˆring has teamed up with Roxy’s greatest enemy: Sydney Munroe, an American billionaire responsible for the death of her beloved dad seven years before. When the Nazis steal the painting, Roxy and Jocco decide that they are just going to have to steal it back.

What happens when Icarus flies too close to the sun? Roxy is going to find out. From African skies to a cellar in Madrid, from the shadow cast by the swastika to the world above the clouds on the Hindenburg’s last voyage, in the end Roxy will have just two choices left–but only one bullet.

Readers Outside Canada: Amazon US

For Canadian readers:†Amazon Canada | Chapters-Indigo | iBooks

Excerpt

Amelia Earhart held a gavel of sorts—it was actually a monkey wrench—above the table in the hangar’s back room. “So, before I declare the Ninety-Nines, the world’s first all-women’s flying association, officially formed, is there any final business?”

The other flyers looked around at each other. Officers had been proposed and seconded. The seventy-two absentees still had to send in their votes, but everyone knew the woman holding the wrench would be acclaimed as first president.

“No? Then it is my great pleasure to—”

“Amelia?” It was Louise Thaden who interrupted. She rose, gesturing outside. “What’s that?”

That was an engine. The sound of a plane engine would immediately halt any business, in case the pilot was struggling to land and needed help.

The wrench hovered as they all listened. “Just a motorbike,” said Amelia, lifting her gavel, then pausing again. “Though I am curious,” she continued, “as to why it is accompanied by so many sirens.”

The pilots listened as engine growl and siren wail drew nearer. Amelia looked over the others’ heads and locked eyes again with Louise. They both had the same thought. They both mouthed the same word.

“Roxy.”

Amelia lowered the wrench.

 

Praise for Chasing the Wind

“A barrel-rolling barn-burner of a book! Roxy’s got a tender heart with a steel jacket, and the skill and courage to bring her in on a wing and a prayer. A good thing, because this girl doesn’t pack a parachute.” óDiana Gabaldon

“Chasing the Wind has everything a historical fiction reader could want. The suspense is wonderful; the writing is sure and confident; and the dialogue is witty and fast paced. I was completely engrossed from the very beginning.” óRoberta Rich, author of The Midwife of Venice

“Flying on the wings of Humphreys’s vivid imagination, spunky aviatrix Roxy Loewen soars from Ethiopia to Madrid as the Spanish Civil War rages, and to Berlin and Hitler’s Olympics, where she contends against the Nazi elite in a struggle to retrieve a stolen sixteenth century painting. A hold-on-to-your-seats aerial display with the throttle open all the way.” óWilliam Deverell, author of the Arthur Beauchamp series

About the Author

Chris (C.C.) Humphreys was born in Toronto, lived till he was seven in Los Angeles, then grew up in the UK. All four grandparents were actors, and since his father was an actor as well, it was inevitable he would follow the bloodline.

Chris has performed on stages from Londonís West End to Hollywood in roles including Hamlet, Caleb the gladiator in NBC’s AD-Anno Domini’, Clive Parnell in ëCoronation Streetí, PC Richard Turnham in ‘The Bill’, the Immortal Graham Ashe in ëHighlanderí, Jack Absolute in ‘The Rivals’ (This performance led to him writing the Jack Absolute novels ñ and they say acting doesnít pay!). Bizarrely, he was also the voice of Salem the cat in ëSabrina the Teenage Witchí.

A playwright, fight choreographer and novelist, he has written eleven adult novels including ëThe French Executionerí, runner up for the CWA Steel Dagger for Thrillers; ëThe Jack Absolute Trilogyí; ëA Place Called Armageddoní; ëShakespeareís Rebelí and the international bestseller, ëVlad ñ The Last Confessioní.

He also writes for young adults, with a trilogy called The Runestone Saga and ëThe Hunt of the Unicorní. The sequel, ëThe Hunt of the Dragoní, was published Fall 2016.

His recent novel ëPlagueí won Canadaís Arthur Ellis Award for Best Crime Novel in 2015. The sequel, ëFireí is a thriller set during the Great Fire, published Summer 2016. Both novels spent five weeks in the top ten on 2016ís Globe and Mail and Toronto Star Bestseller lists.

His new novel is ëChasing the Windí about 1930ís aviatrix ñ and thief! ñ Roxy Loewen, will be published in Canada and the USA in June 2018.

Several of his novels are available as Audiobooks – read by himself! Find him here at Audible.

He is translated into thirteen languages. In 2015 he earned his Masters in Fine Arts (Creative Writing) from the University of British Columbia.

Chris now lives on Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada, with his wife, son and cat, Dickon (who keeps making it into his books!).

For more information, please visit C.C. Humphrey’s website. You can also find him on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.

Blog Tour Schedule

Tuesday, June 5
Interview at Passages to the Past

Thursday, June 7
Review at Reading the Past

Friday, June 8
Excerpt at Books and Glamour

Monday, June 11
Review at A Darn Good Read

Tuesday, June 12
Excerpt at Let Them Read Books

Thursday, June 14
Review at History From a Woman’s Perspective

Tuesday, June 19
Review at Library of Clean Reads

Thursday, June 21
Feature at CelticLady’s Reviews
Excerpt at What Is That Book About

Friday, June 22
Review & Excerpt at Clarissa Reads it All

Monday, June 25
Review at Just One More Chapter

Tuesday, June 26
Review at The Lit Bitch

Giveaway

During the Blog Tour we will be giving away a copy of the short story, The Birth of Jack Absolute by C.C. Humphreys! To enter, please enter via the Gleam form below.

Giveaway Rules

ñ Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on June 26th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
ñ Giveaway is open INTERNATIONALLY.
ñ Only one entry per household.
ñ All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspect of fraud is decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion.
ñ Winner has 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen.

Chasing the Wind