• lilli de jong
    Book Reviews Books

    Lille de Jong Review + Giveaway

    Lilli de Jong by Janet Benton Paperback Publication Date: July 10, 2018 Anchor Books Paperback; 352 Pages Genre: Historical Fiction     Philadelphia, 1883. Twenty-three-year-old Lilli de Jong is pregnant and aloneóabandoned by her lover and banished from her Quaker home. She gives birth at a charity for wronged women, planning to give up the …

  • Island on Fire
    Uncategorized

    ISLAND ON FIRE REVIEW + GIVEAWAY

    Island on Fire by Sophie Schiller Publication Date: March 15, 2018 Paperback & eBook; 270 Pages ISBN-13: 978-1986210782 Genre: Fiction/Historical/Thriller     In the lush, tropical world of Martinique where slavery is a distant memory and voodoo holds sway, Emilie Dujon discovers that her fiancÈ, a rich sugar planter, has been unfaithful. Desperate to leave …

  • romanov empress
    Book Reviews Books

    THE ROMANOV EMPRESS REVIEW + GIVEAWAY

    The Romanov Empress by C.W. Gortner Publication Date: July 10, 2018 Ballantine Books Hardcover; 448 pages Genre: Historical Fiction   Even from behind the throne, a woman can rule. Narrated by the mother of Russiaís last tsar, this vivid, historically authentic novel brings to life the courageous story of Maria Feodorovna, one of Imperial Russiaís …

  • Last Dance in Kabul
    Book Reviews

    LAST DANCE IN KABUL REVIEW + GIVEAWAY

      Last Dance in Kabul by Ken Czech Publication Date: August 2, 2018 Fireship Press Paperback & eBook; 306 Pages Genre: Action & Adventure/Historical/Romance/War & Military     The Ultimate Dance Between Love and War When his superiors ignore his warnings of an impending Afghan insurrection in 1841, British army captain Reeve Waterton vows never …

  • 02_Blood and Ink
    Book Reviews

    BLOOD AND INK REVIEW + GIVEAWAY

    Blood and Ink by D.K. Marley Publication Date: March 28, 2018 The White Rabbit Publishing ebook, Paperback, and Audible; 438 Pages   Genre: Historical Fiction In the tradition of “The Marlowe Papers” by Ros Barber, the debut historical fiction novel “Blood and Ink” tells the story of Christopher “Kit” Marlowe, the dark and brooding playwright …

  • Salem, MA
    Lifestyle

    10 Fun Facts About Me

    I thought it would be fun for you to get to know me a little bit better for a change. Today, we are talking about ten things about me. So here we go!!! 1.) I’m an aspiring author. Anyone who knows me already knows this. I have a huge love affair with historical fiction thanks …

  • Oh, October quote
    Lifestyle

    Why Did I Change the Name of the Blog?

    Welcome to Oh, October! You may be wondering, “Why change the name of the blog?” “Why ‘Oh, October’?” In the past two years of my life, I have found that I have changed so drastically that I barely recognize myself. I went from living alone in an apartment (with my puppy, Wallie), working a full …

  • Books

    INTERVIEW WITH AUTHOR CATHERINE MEYRICK

    Forsaking All Other by Catherine Meyrick Publication Date: April 1, 2018 Courante Publishing eBook & Print; 291 Pages Genre: Historical Fiction     Love is no game for women; the price is far too high. England 1585. Bess Stoughton, waiting woman to the well-connected Lady Allingbourne, has discovered that her father is arranging for her …

Books

“Chasing Wind” Excerpt

02_Chasing the Wind

Chasing the Wind by C.C. Humphreys Publication Date: June 5, 2018 Paperback & eBook; 320 Pages Genre: Historical/Women’s Fiction/Mystery     Smuggler. Smoker. Aviatrix. Thief. The dynamic Roxy Loewen is all these things and more, in this riveting and gorgeous historical fiction novel for readers of Paula McLain, Roberta Rich, Kate Morton and Jacqueline Winspear. …

  • reading forsaken all others
    Books

    Forsaking All Others Review + Giveaway

    Forsaking All Other by Catherine Meyrick Publication Date: April 1, 2018 Courante Publishing eBook & Print; 291 Pages Genre: Historical Fiction     Love is no game for women; the price is far too high. England 1585. Bess Stoughton, waiting woman to the well-connected Lady Allingbourne, has discovered that her father is arranging for her …