• Last Dance in Kabul
    Book Reviews

    LAST DANCE IN KABUL REVIEW + GIVEAWAY

      Last Dance in Kabul by Ken Czech Publication Date: August 2, 2018 Fireship Press Paperback & eBook; 306 Pages Genre: Action & Adventure/Historical/Romance/War & Military     The Ultimate Dance Between Love and War When his superiors ignore his warnings of an impending Afghan insurrection in 1841, British army captain Reeve Waterton vows never …

  • 02_Blood and Ink
    Book Reviews

    BLOOD AND INK REVIEW + GIVEAWAY

    Blood and Ink by D.K. Marley Publication Date: March 28, 2018 The White Rabbit Publishing ebook, Paperback, and Audible; 438 Pages   Genre: Historical Fiction In the tradition of “The Marlowe Papers” by Ros Barber, the debut historical fiction novel “Blood and Ink” tells the story of Christopher “Kit” Marlowe, the dark and brooding playwright …

  • Salem, MA
    Lifestyle

    10 Fun Facts About Me

    I thought it would be fun for you to get to know me a little bit better for a change. Today, we are talking about ten things about me. So here we go!!! 1.) I’m an aspiring author. Anyone who knows me already knows this. I have a huge love affair with historical fiction thanks …

  • Oh, October quote
    Lifestyle

    Why Did I Change the Name of the Blog?

    Welcome to Oh, October! You may be wondering, “Why change the name of the blog?” “Why ‘Oh, October’?” In the past two years of my life, I have found that I have changed so drastically that I barely recognize myself. I went from living alone in an apartment (with my puppy, Wallie), working a full …

  • Books

    INTERVIEW WITH AUTHOR CATHERINE MEYRICK

    Forsaking All Other by Catherine Meyrick Publication Date: April 1, 2018 Courante Publishing eBook & Print; 291 Pages Genre: Historical Fiction     Love is no game for women; the price is far too high. England 1585. Bess Stoughton, waiting woman to the well-connected Lady Allingbourne, has discovered that her father is arranging for her …

Books

“Chasing Wind” Excerpt

02_Chasing the Wind

Chasing the Wind by C.C. Humphreys Publication Date: June 5, 2018 Paperback & eBook; 320 Pages Genre: Historical/Women’s Fiction/Mystery     Smuggler. Smoker. Aviatrix. Thief. The dynamic Roxy Loewen is all these things and more, in this riveting and gorgeous historical fiction novel for readers of Paula McLain, Roberta Rich, Kate Morton and Jacqueline Winspear. …

  • reading forsaken all others
    Books

    Forsaking All Others Review + Giveaway

    Forsaking All Other by Catherine Meyrick Publication Date: April 1, 2018 Courante Publishing eBook & Print; 291 Pages Genre: Historical Fiction     Love is no game for women; the price is far too high. England 1585. Bess Stoughton, waiting woman to the well-connected Lady Allingbourne, has discovered that her father is arranging for her …

  • Book Reviews Books

    NINE BIRDS SINGING REVIEW + GIVEAWAY

    Nine Birds Singing by Edythe Anstey Hanen Publication Date: December 5, 2017 New Arcadia Publishing Paperback; 276 Pages ISBN-13: 978-0981024158 Genre: Literary Fiction     Maddie is a writer of local history but wants to use her words to unlock the hidden truths that lay just below the surface of her life. But itís magnetic …

  • 02_The Blue
    Books

    THE BLUE COVER REVEAL!!!!

    The Blue by Nancy Bilyeau Publication: Fall 2018 Endeavour Quill Genre: Historical Fiction What would you do to possess the most coveted color in the world? The year is 1758, and a headstrong woman artist, 24-year-old Genevieve Planche, is caught up in a high-stakes race to discover the ultimate color, one that threatens to become …

  • aint misbehaving
    Book Reviews Books

    AIN’T MISBEHAVIN’ REVIEW + GIVEAWAY

    Ain’t Misbehavin’ (Roaring Twenties #2) by Jennifer Lamont Leo Publication Date: March 13, 2018 Smitten Historical Romance eBook & Paperback; 200 Pages Genre: Historical Romance/Christian In Jazz Age Chicago, Dot Rodgers sells hats at Marshall Field while struggling to get her singing career off the ground. Independent and feisty, she’s the life of the party. …